Very confused help

Posted , 4 users are following.

I am 62 yr female. My brother had transplant 13 years ago due to kidney failure from extreme HBP so I am familiar with what he went through. 6 years ago I began to experience health issues that appeared to be kidney related and they have continued yearly. Like clock work every early fall I have almost every symptom of ckd. My GP does blood work GFR 74 ultrasound, CT scan, urologist, etc and by February everything goes away. ( we eat a LOT of fresh fruit and veggies through the summer ) This year has been more extreme and my potassium showed high at 5.4 for the first time but my gfr and crestine remain the same. I have low BP that can spike and vascular issues. My GP keeps running tests but aside from potassium that has gone down to 4.8 with change is diet (less veg) does not know what else to do.  Any suggestions why this happens and direction. 

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi k81614,

I'm not a doctor so am not qualified to provide any medical advice. But my experience is somewhat like yours; although there are some important differences.

Similarities:

1. Elevated potassium intermittently for 3-4 years with creatinine and eGFR in normal range. All other electrolytes in normal range; just sporadic elevated potassium.

2. Put on a low potassium diet that pulled my potassium back into normal range.

Differences:

1. I'm a Type II diabetic

2. My father had CKD with renal failure that required in home hemo dialysis. His CKD was due to very high blood pressure.

3. In addition to the low potassium diet I was told to drink more water. That seemed to help.

4. Began having problems with anemia during the third year of my potassium issues but otherwise my data remained in the normal range.

5. Toward the end of year three there was a decrease in my eGFR. It then began varying over successive labs.