Very new to Citalopram :/

Posted , 6 users are following.

I am new to Citalopram and antidepressants in general. I was prescribed Zoloft over a year ago and only took it for a couple weeks because the side effects made me act extremely bipolar. I tried to cope with my anxiety and worrying about everything on my own but it did not work so now I am going to be taking Citalopram. I have many reservations about medication that alters the brain. I have only taken it once (yesterday) and it made my heart race a little, I had nausea and racing thoughts and I also felt more anxiety than usual for a short amount of my night.

I am wondering if the benefits will eventually outweigh the side effects, the only thing that bothers me was the heightened anxiety. So I am wondering, is that a normal side effect and will it go away? And should I stick with it?

1 like, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

The heightened anxiety is normal and only bothered me for a few days of the first couple of weeks so stick with it and u will be so glad u did it does work u just need to battle through the first couple of weeks smile
  • Posted

Hi alyssa

Welcome! We all worry about taking drugs especially for your brain but as my husband says if your heart or anyother part of your body was broken you would have to!!!

I can't believe how great I fill ive been on cits for 3 months and have my life back!!

The side effects are awful at times but I stuck with them

Take it day by day

Good luck

Always here for chat!!

• Posted

Thank you both so much! Your responses helped my view and I am definitely going to keep taking it and see how it goes!
  • Posted

Hi.

I have been taking citalopram for 2 weeks now 10mg. I am taking at night and still feel dreadful. Anxiety, not sleeping and fatigue throughout the day, really struggling to do my job. Nausea has now settled. How long do I need it give it?

Thanks

• Posted