Virtual Realiity device and ARMS

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have been receiving treatment for ARMD for more than 3 years. Monthly Avastin or Eyela injections have been fairly effective. Both eyes are "wet". My right eye is still good enough that I can read and drive with corrective lenses. My left eye is fairly useless. I have lost mid-vision and anything I look at with that eye is missing pieces and extremely distorted.

I recently visited my brother and his grandson wanted me to try on his virtual reality goggles. When I did I was not surprised that I could not get the 3D effect but enjoyed watching the fish swim around me. The images were very clear. For some ereason I closed my good eye and was amazed when I realized I was seeing the same clear, intact, non distorted images. I made sure I was not using my good eye at all. We tried another app (dinosaurs) with the same result. I waited a few days and had the same result. I wondered if I could read using the goggles so my sister-in-law brought up a kindle e-book and I could read entire sentences - no blank spots, no distortion. My retinologist had no explanation. Has anyone else had this experience? Would some of you try this out and let me know what you experience?

Thank you

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Do you have a brand/model name for the VR goggles you tried?
    • Posted

Evidently I am not allowed to provide that information through this forum. My detailed response to you was deleted by a moderator. I guess I can only tell you it was an inexepensive item ordered from a well known on-line retailer.   
  • Posted

I read your e mail in detail as I am also suffering from Dry AMD and Glaucoma; possibly still in early stages. My eye sight remains quite reasonable so far but I have noted down your experience for guidance. I wish you the best of luck in tackling this problem.
    • Posted