Vitamins for Crohn's disease

Posted , 3 users are following.

Can anybody recommend a vit/ mineral supplement for somebody with Crohn's disease. I'm on no medication but my diet has become very limited ,

all the best to you all.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi, im pretty new to all this myself, but I try and take a multi vit without iron usually or a B vitamin supplement. I have low B12 and low folate and for many years had regular injections. Now I keep my levels just on the border of normal by taking oral supplements. My diet is shocking, I live on ham sandwiches, yet aside from low calcium my vitamin levels are miraculously hanging in there at present! I dont take iron as it gives me awful tummy ache rolleyes
    • Posted

Thanks , didn't think of that, multivitamin, without iron . 
  • Posted

I am new to all this wonderful Crohns stuff as well. However, I take a Complex B supplement, Folic Acid supplement and a Ginger supplement. Ginger is said to be great for your GI system.
    • Posted

I find the B complex a great help. I suffer from a really foggy head at times but find whenever I am taking B vits I feel so much better generally, less fatigued and much sharper in my head!
    • Posted

Thank you Jo, did B vits , do you know if they are difficult on the gut ? 
    • Posted

Oooh really? No I didnt rolleyes im not taking them at the moment as i wanted to see if my levels dropped quickly. I was having regular injections for B12 deficiency but developed a reaction to them so my GP said to take them orally!

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!