Waiting for gene test and not sure if I might have H

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi,  I’m new here.  I got my blood work done and my test came back

Iron 22

Iron bonding capacity unsaturated 18

Iron saturation  0.55

Ferritin 692 (up from 617.  5 months ago). I have a parent that has HH.    Is it possible I have it also?  I have to wait another 5 months for the gene testing to be back.  Have you had to wait for that test before starting the phlebotomy?

1 like, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Hi, and welcome to the forum. I am also a newbie here but will share what I know. You inherit one gene from each parent. To have HH you must inherit two mutated genes, one from each parent. If the parent you mention is homozygous (two identical mutations, C282Y for example) and you inherit the same mutation from the other parent then you have HH. If you have two different mutations then you are considered compound heterozygous, and if you have just one mutated gene you are heterozygous. If one parent is homozygous (HH) you are at best heterozygous (carrier), which predisposes you to a slight elevation in iron.

i recommend that you read all you can, from this forum, and other places and educate yourself.  HH can be tough to deal with.

Best of luck!

• Posted

Thanks,  I will check what other people wrote.  I’m lucky as a parent has gone before me and so I have someone to talk to about it.

I have been doing research since we found out it’s hereditary.  That’s why I’m a little consernd with my test results, cause it can be a little confusing...  and wondering did people have to wait for the gene testing before starting their phlebotomy.   Or maybe the dr just saw their results and started ahead.  I mean my ferritin jumped in only 5 months,  what’s it going to be in another 4?  smile 

• Posted