Waiting List for Rheumatology Clinic

Posted , 6 users are following.

Subject: Waiting List for ClinicMy GP recently diagnosed my RA following a CCP blood count of over 300 and constant pains in my wrists, thumbs and toes. She sent an letter to the rheumatology clinic in our local hospital, stating Urgent Referral. I phoned the hospital today as I haven't slept in 3 weeks, waking 4-5 times a night because of wrist pain. I am devastated to be told the waiting list is 10 MONTHS for an appointment! I'm 47, mum of 4, self-employed with 2 jobs, and I feel very low. With a history of depression to boot I don't know how long I can cope with this constant pain. Work is excruciating as I'm a baker & cake designer. Sorry for the rant everyone, but I just need to get this off my chest.

0 likes, 24 replies

24 Replies

Next
  • Posted

blimey! I only had to wait a couple of months! Has GP given you any pain meds?
    • Posted

Yes, but they only take the edge off the pain, but as my work involved my hands and wrists alot I don't really get full benefit.
    • Posted

What meds are you taking? You often need a combination. I take codeine, naproxen, Nefopam and occasionally paracetamol.
    • Posted

have you tried the pain relief gels? Or using cold pads or heat pads? What pain meds have you been given? I have naproxen, paracetamol and codine so I can vary amounts depending on pain. I also use compression gloves which are FAB and have extended my working hours.
    • Posted

oh and wrist braces too for days when I have 'heavier' things to do with my wrists like traveling and lifting bags or driving etc...
    • Posted

I'm on Naproxen too, but I have coeine in the house. Do you think I can take both then? My work means I can't wear gloves or gels, but I have tried wearing gloves in bed. I work 7 nights a week so unfortunately my hands get little rest. In the last wek my wrists have started making cracking noises. Is this normal with RA?
    • Posted