Walking after bunion surgery

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi, everyone! I had bunion surgery back on July 3rd, was non weight bearing for 6 weeks, used a scooter, then I was finally able to walk with the boot around mid-August. I'm out of the boot and my doctor told me to wear tennis shoes or supportive shoes (especially since I'm a teacher). I've been pretty good about wearing tennis shoes most of the time, but I'm still having pain/swelling in the morning and usually have to take 4 Advil before school starts. After that, I'm fine for the rest of the day. I'm also still having some pain/uncomfortable while walking and cannot walk as fast as normal; I feel like I have to limp a little bit. My husband and I have a trip planned to the mountains next weekend and were planning on doing some hiking, but I'm worried I won't be able to. Anyone else have/having these types of issues? Thanks, y'all!

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

hi Mattie

I had bunion plus other stuff done March. I was told it could take a long time to heal (18 months for me). I'd say if your still taking painkillers make sure you take them with you when you go hiking.

I would suggest you use walking poles. they reduce the pressure on the feet considerably.

Enjoy.

• Posted

I'd say limit your hiking, to what you can comfortably walk. I am 8 months post op 2 bunions. You need to build up your walking ie. walk some every day. I m in Ireland. Visited the U.S. in April at 2 months post op, expecting to do a lot of walking, sightseeing etc. I was tired sooner than I imagined, from walking around. I had to sit frequently as my feet ached, particularly my toes. Still, I enjoyed our sightseeing trips, just wish I could had walked more than I did. Back home, I was gradually walking further each day, and we did a lot of gardening throughout the summer, redesigning our garden. Today, I am walking at least 3-5 miles a day, back to my previous walking distance.

• Posted