Walking Sticks and Disability Parking.

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hey, I am a newbie to the group. I was diagnosed with fibro last year and, to be honest, I am still getting used to it. However, lately, I have been having a lot of trouble with my stability, balance and walking a far distance. (Sometimes I feel they go hand in hand.) You see I'm a History and Art teacher in training and whilst on my month long holiday I had three pretty bad falls and many close calls, making five bad falls within the last year, as I was reminded by a friend. I feel like my legs just don't want to hold be up when I am tired and with lack of decent sleep that's most of the time bad and really bad when I have a flair up, not to mention when I go shopping. All this got me seriously considering if I should make that step and buy a walking stick or cane and possibly asking my doctor for a parking permit on my bad days. What do you guys think? Is that a smart thing to do? I am only 21 and the idea of a cane and a 'disability' parking permit scares me.

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Go for it Jazin...  don't feel embarrassed or awkward.  Remember it's about you..keeping you safer from falls etc..  I use an elbow crutch myself, however not all day everday, only on my worst days or when I know I'm going to be walking a distance, steps or inclines on my journey.  Otherwise if I don't take it/use it on those trips I get into strife.  The odd occassion I can go quite a distance without, but I suffer for it of course the next day or so..  hohummm  but that's just how it is.

Sorry to hear you have the condition, but the best thing is, is to not buy into it all day everyday... Push forward mentally, make good with all the positives.  It isn't a death sentence..   

Well done with your studies!  :-)  All the best for future.  

• Posted