Walking with the Boot phase (Advice)

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hello, everyone,

I had a Tibia ankle fracture surgery in November. Darned surgical site became infected (I posted an earlier thread about it, with the gruesome photos, it was not amazing times). Well, the metal had to be removed right around the 30th of December, and now I've been told by my surgeon that it is time to start walking with the boot as I get to a point where I can do so without Crutches. He told me that about four days ago,  So I'm just getting started. 

I do all the foot exercises, flexing the foot and what-not, moving it from side to side, writing the alphabet in the air, and so on. Foot wiggles well, but of course it's not 100 percent. Maybe 60 percent wiggle capacity. Wound site is a little tender, stitches just got taken out about 5 days ago. 

I guess what I'm looking for is information from others in the same phase of their healing, or those who have gone through the phase themselves. I can walk without the crutches (Though it is something more akin to hobbling like a zombie pirate) but my ankle still feels a bit of the pain at the area where the fracture was. This scares the poo out of me, as I don't want to cause more stress than the 'ol sucker can handle to the point that I'm not helping it. However, since the surgeon gave me the green light, I'm wondering if we all go through this, and I just have to grit my teeth and mind-over-matter this discomfort and keep at it, forcing the ankle bone to get with the program like it used to, no more laying around watching Netflix.

So if anyone has advice, or similar situation comparison, I'd love to read it. While I pace around my room like a crippled dwarf....watching Netflix. I don't know any other humans that have had to go through this nonsense, so you guys are my only hope and place to go whine to.)

0 likes, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted