Warfarin side effects

Posted , 5 users are following.

i have been on warfarin for nearly five years due to massive PE no obvious cause in this time I have gained three stone in weight I eat healthy exercise don't drink or smoke so am positive this is due to warfarin . I am seeing my Gp in two weeks to try and stop warfarin but been told I must take an alternative anyone out there to give me any advice as to which new anti coagulant is best 

thank you

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Eliquis also known as apixaban was ok. Why must you stay on it? Mine was unprovoked they think but they took me off after 6 months when the clots went away. Im du for another ct in August for a follow up.
    • Posted

Just been told due to the massive pe that is unexplained I am to stay on lifelong but weight gain is getting me down so on advice by haematology consultant been told I can stop warfarin but need alternative ! ?
  • Posted

Hi,

I'm new to this so my knowledge is limited, I was diagnosed as having multiple clots in both lungs, I believe they call them pulmonary embolis ?  in cases where more than one is involved, by that I mean each clot is called / classed as an embolis. I was told when diagnosed that warafin was the best drug to treat PE but a lot of doctors prescribe the newer drugs for their ease of use, cost ( I believe due to needing regular blood tests on warafin ? ) and no dietary changes needed for the newer drugs, NOAC's I think the class / group of medication is called.

I have been told there is other treatments available but they depend on the type and severity, the other alternatives that I am aware of is Clexane and in the NOAC family there is about 4 of them but I only know 3 of them, they are Xarelto (Za-rel-to) , Apixiban and Predaxa. hope my limited knowledge has helped somewhat .

• Posted

Hi Tracy,