Ways to overcome depression

Posted , 3 users are following.

Hello I've just signed up to this, my story and how I overcame depression;

I grew up close to all my family and friends I could imagine life without them, I graduated at university studying IT, a year later I had to undergo an operation on my head, part of the brain had to be removed. My operation was something which completely changed my life. From growing up close to family and friends my mood and inner belief started to deteriorate as I found it hard to get in to work related to my education and work as a whole. My confidence was down to a low, 4 years unemployed, lack of family support, family I turned to for help replied, 'You got to fight it yourself, we can't help you', this really demolished my family tree and beliefs. Form family I grew up with, family I supported when ever they required my services in their family businesses. All my belief in family had been demolished, my parents would invite family over I'd have nothing to talk about, which everybody started to label me boring even my brothers.

My depression had got so serious I was constantly thinking suicide, went to counselling sessions, I felt worthless no family, no friends, no work, nothing. Anxiety kicked in as my confidence was an all low, I lived in a house of up to 7 people which increased to 8 as my parents believed the best way for me to overcome my depression would be for me to get married, irregardless of me having no work, they told me they'd help me out with money, etc.

Got married the first 2 years of my marriage piled more pressure on my mind, leading to a breakdown, it was a new life, I had the responsibility to look after my wife even though I was out of work. Even she managed to get in to work before me despite coming over from abroad which really made me feel useless, I'd come across thoughts of suicide and came close numerous times to ending my life.