Weaning Off Bisoprolol

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi guys, I'm totally new to this so I apologise in advance if this should be something that's frequently discussed on here.

I suffer with ectopic beats as a given, but I was prescribed 2.5mg of Bisoprolol about 3 weeks ago following a series of random episodes of tachycardia and weakness and I'm really not enjoying how they're making me feel; I'm constantly anxious for no apparent reason and the fluttering sensation they've brought about in my chest is horrendous, to the point where it stops me from being able to sleep some nights so, I want to get myself off of them as soon as possible.

I spoke to my GP and she told me that I could just stop taking them completely as I'm on the lowest possible dose (I started with 1.25mg with the intention of eventually upping my dose to the prescribed 2.5mg) and have only been taking them for a short amount of time but, I'm not convinced that going cold turkey, as opposed to tapering off of them, is the best idea given how much they affect me even at such a low dose, which is why I'm here; I'd like some advice from people who have been in a similar situation as I'm really unwell at the minute and I don't want to do anything to make myself feel worse if I can avoid doing so.

I was thinking of taking them every other day for a few days and then every two days for a further few days until eventually stopping completely as I don't think I could score the tablets into quarters but, I'd like a second opinion as I've read that the withdrawals can be awful and I suspect that I will experience some, given how they make me feel.

I'd really appreciate any advice that anyone can offer me and would like to thank anyone who should respond in advance for their time and input; reading through these threads has been so comforting for me and it's such a relief to know that I'm not alone with my problems.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted