Weaning off citalopram

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hello everyone. I am new to this discussion board. I have been taking citalopram 20mg for about 25 years now. Had a doctor appt today and told her i wanted to come off. She suggested I take 10mg for 2 weeks then done! I have been doing a little research before this and I read alot of stuff about decreasing your dose by 10% for like 3 to 4 weeks then another 10% so on and so forth. After reading discussions I would like to avoid as many side effects as possible. I was thinking of going down to 15mg for 3 weeks then 10mg for 3 weeks, etc. Any thoughts would be appreciated! I feel as though you get put on this stuff and the doctor doesnt know how to wean you off.

0 likes, 24 replies

24 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi cis I had the same to come of mirt.. pdr said just come off it.. I saw my gp 2weeks later he was shocked when I told I was more so because of what I was reading about but he said youv gone through the worst of it so youl be ok.. I think on here is the best information by far ..don't listen to your dr ..especially after 25yrs of taking them. . Youl be crawling the walls.. I wish u lots of luck x

• Posted

Hi Cis. I dont know much about coming off this AD but from reading forums in here u would be coming off too fast. Theres a lady who comes in here by the name of Katecogs. Seek her out for some advice. She knows this drugnin and out!!!!! Good luck.
    • Posted

John, thanks for the tip! I will seek her out!
  • Posted