Week 4 on Methotrexate - nail problems

Posted , 4 users are following.

Hi again. I'm on week 4 of my MTX and up to 10mg (I'm in the UK where I think the regimen might be a bit different).

I've been taking them on my days off so that the worst of any adverse effects will be over with before I'm back to work. For the sake of family life though I'm hoping it won't get too bad!

So far I've just had some dizziness and feeling slightly sick the first week which then disappeared. Other than that my hair feels a bit frizzy but thankfully not falling out (fingers crossed). Bit of stomatitis which is settling.

However I've noticed since yesterday I have a yellow mark on one of my nails which looks a bit like a horizontal tobacco stained stripe. Also some white marks on a couple of other nails. I'm a bit concerned that all of my nails turn yellow because I'm a Nurse and I can't just paint over them (would stop me washing my hands properly).

Is there anything I could use in terms of hand cream etc containing certain ingredients that makes your nails less likely to get stained/fall out? I know in the grand scheme of things I could have worse things to worry about soon but it's just that it's something I can't hide from my boss.

Stepping up from 10 to 15mg next week and starting to feel quite stressed.

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

Hi Marie, my husband went through this period when he first started

taking mtx and I think it was when he was on the tablet form that it

happened.Once he switched to injections it stopped.His nails do get

brittle at times.I bought him a bottle of hair nails vitamins.You can go search the web for a brand,maybe it will help.I'm sorry it is

happening to you especially being a nurse sad I hope someone else

can make a suggestion

• Posted

Hi Tory, glad to hear your Husband started feeling better on the injections. That's a good idea thanks, I could use nail strengthening stuff and just clean if off for work.

• Posted