Weight lifting with PMR to minimize muscle loss

Posted , 13 users are following.

I have worked out for years, and lost 15 pounds of muscle in 15 days. Does anyone have any suggestions about working with weights while you have PMR? I seems to do better regarding pain when I do lower weights and high reps. I am new to PMR and would like to improve the learning curve regarding working out. Any suggestions, based on personal experience? Also would appreciate thoughts on amount of daily protein intake - right now I am consuming at least 400 gm per day.

1 like, 25 replies

25 Replies

Next
  • Posted

A lot of competitive athletes in this form will share the same message: life changes when you get PMR, and whether not you can exercise depends entirely on where you are in the pain cycle. Beyond that, but I can say is that exercise is good but acute exercise is bad. Translated to weightlifting, I would say the lower weights and higher repetition would be far better than heavyweights the truly stress your body.
  • Posted

As someone who was very active pre PMR I would urge caution with any form of exercise.  Only do what you can but don't overdo it as you will pay for it.  It has taken me some 2 years to slowly build up my muscles after intianally being very immobile.  Steriods really don't help.  My maxim is listen to what your body is telling you and don't just carry on regardless - it dosen't work.

• Posted

More to the point, prednisone masks your symptoms making you feel initially as though you can go back at it full bore.  You cannot.  As a passionately competitive rower, I learned this the hard way.
    • Posted

Thank you for this advice.. I'm bummed, I loved to do CrossFit n run now I can't.. not happy , I just found this forum searching for answers to my questions about staying healthy and working out , I'm beginning to gain weight... not happy !!!

• Posted