Weight loss and afib

Posted , 7 users are following.

My afib has improved with my ablation. However, I am sure it would improve even more if I could lose 75 pounds. I am 250 and 5'8.

I read about garçinia today. Anyone tried it? I have never done diets before except on my own, like giving up sodas and "trying" to give up bread.

Interested in opinions. I am 69 and otherwise healthy.(except for that annoying afib thing)

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

hello and good that the ablation worked but yes, extra weight does make the heart work much harder and it would be really good if you could lose a bit. do not know what garcinia is but I lost weight by cutting out wheat and it is surprising just how fast it can happen. VERY hard to stick to but it  may be easier if you eat bread etc on 2 days only so you have it to look forward to
  • Posted

The key to losing weight and keeping it off - mindfulness.

Eat ONLY when you are hungry and do not finish everything on your plate if you are no longer hungry. When eating - every few minutes - ask yourself if you are still hungry, and if the answer is "no", then it is time to stop.

Also, alcohol does sometrhing metabolically that suppresses calorie burning, so if possible minize alcohol.

Frank 

• Posted

Thanks frank. It is discouraging to give up almost1500 calories a day( I drank a liter of Pepsi a day) and lose nothing. And water is what i substituted it for! As far as alcohol- I haven't had more than 2 drinks in 69 years, but I will keep plugging along.

• Posted

I forgot to mention the sugar part of losing weight.  There are 43 grams of sugar in one can of Pepsi, and you really only need maybe 20 grams/day of simple sugar - total.

That said, anything containing simple sugar will raise your insulin levels, and one of the jobs of insulin is to prevent you from burning fat.