Weird sleep cycle I can’t fix, help!

Posted , 7 users are following.

For the past few weeks I have been unable to sleep properly. Each night I go to bed around 11PM fairly tired, nod off and then usually wake up 2-3 hours later. Once I wake up I feel wide awake and cannot sleep at all, in most cases I am up until about 8am until I can sleep again.

I am a university student and don't have to be up early, though I try to get up around at the same time every day. I have tried what feels like everything, I just cant sleep through for longer than three hours. I have tried sleeping later so I am more tired, staying awake all day rather than sleeping or napping, upping my cardio to feel more tired etc. Any advice would be greatly appreciated, I have always struggled falling to sleep but never staying asleep, now its the other way round.

Not sleeping is causing me noticeable tension headaches, is this something for the doctor or just my own fault somehow? I cant point to a specific thing in my life which could've suddenly caused this

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Edited

Try drinking a glass of hot adult formula milk 1 hour before sleep. It might help. If you could drink 2 glasses a day but space it out or you end up going to the toilet middle of the night.

Google how digital devices have blue light which disrupt sleep. Try install apps like twilight to switch your phone to block blue light and see if it helps. You could also try not to look at digital devices 1 to 2 hours before bed. It does disrupt your sleep. You might want to try getting a pair of block blue light glasses and wear it few hours before sleep. It will help.

Soak your feet in a small basin before bed in slightly hot water. It helps too.

Magnesium oil sleep spray also helps. Lack of Vitamin D can also affect sleep. You can try taking liquid vitamin D every morning but not afternoon or night as it will keep you awake.

• Posted