What did I experience?

Posted , 3 users are following.

Sorry if I post in the wrong section, I'm a noob. :3

So yesterday I got so stressed out that I cut myself...and I do regret it...but now getting on the point, On the night I cut myself, I went to bed trying to forget about what I've done, as I tried to fall as sleep, I had a dream that my friend would react really badly to my cuts, as she told me not to do it. Then, I suddenly started going out of control. I started crying, and then about 5 mins after crying, I was panicking and breathing really fastly and heavily, still crying. And I was shaking a bit too! This continued for about 10 mins before it finally stopped, and I just kept breathing loudly due to what happened. But what was it? Was it some sort of anxiety? Panic Attacks? I'm not sure! sad I've never had that happen to me before!

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hi. It sounds as though you did have a bit of a panic but it could just be because you're so stressed out at the moment.  I presume that you are cutting to release some stress so that, along with the guilt you then felt about cutting, gave you a nightmare.  Your body will find all sorts of way to release the stress and this was just the way it chose.  I know it's easy for me to say but the best thing you can do is try to tackle the reason why you're cutting and finding a better way to channel it.  Hopefully this was just a one off experience.  Hope you feel better biggrin
    • Posted

Thank you so much for your reply. I was quite nervous because it never happened to me before. But now I know and I feel better about it. smile
  • Posted

It sounds to me as if you began to hyperventilate.  Its easy enough to do that to yourself with deep or rapid breathing.