What do you want your therapist to know?

Posted , 5 users are following.

Good morning/ afternoon/ evening.

My name is Amber and I am currently a Respiratory Therapy Student in Georgia. I am approaching the last 2 terms of my path and have been given a simple project. For this project; I need you to tell me what you would like your therapist to know about you and your condition.

I would like to know these things without it being a project because I believe that not only the condition and/ or disease must be treated but also the patient. Each one of us is unique and experiences something different. I would like to know what you experience on a day to day basis and how you have learned to live with Bronchiectasis.

I want to be the best therapist I possibly can so I am asking for personal insight from all you. Please do not include any identifying information because I respect your privacy as I would wish mine to be. I would not and will not give any advice as your doctor and current respiratory therapist would know better than I, and my level of expertise/ experience is not something I would be comfortable with. I am a student, and as a student I must learn, and the best teachers are the people that experience these difficulties on a daily basis. 

Thank you,

Amber

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Good morning, Amber!

First of all, I applaud your efforts to be the best respiratory therapist you can be. Your patients will undoubtedly reap the benefits of that…  :=)