What does a new molluscum look like?

Posted , 3 users are following.

hi,

ive suffered from molluscum since december, recently with the help of potassium hydroxide and removing swollen lesions im down to 0 confirmed bumps in the last couple of weeks

so now im just focusing on noticing new ones but the problem is they are microscopic. i have noticed 2-3 new shiny bumps the size of a pinhead and wanted to get peoples opinion on whether these will grow to be molluscum bumps. im treating them like they are because at this point im losing my mind and am not taking any chances, but it would be good if people could confirm - perhaps you had bumps like these that became prominent MC bumps after a while?

most of them are situated right next to a hair follicle but with no hair coming out of it which is why i think it is different to folliculitis

thanks

1 like, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Edited

Hey,

So I've been battling with molluscum for about five years now... the bumps that I get are so microscopic just like the one your picture shows. I'm honestly not 100% sure that's what it is but I'm so fearful of spreading this horrible virus so I just treat them like they are contagious. This virus is awful because it is so hard to tell which bumps are concerning and which ones are normal since they are so f*****g tiny. I'm thinking about getting a biopsy on bumps like those tiny ones because I'm so sick and tired of feeling like my body is contagious and I want to put this all in the past so badly. If you happen to find out what it is please let me know! Also, how did you treat yours with potassium hydroxide??

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!