What have SR users decided to take now that it’s no longer available?

Posted , 5 users are following.

I am new to this particular Forum, but was a member of the NOS forum until it closed. I’m still on the NOF forum.  I have been on SR since 2011 and now undecided what to go for next.  I already take all the bone supplements ie D3, Mg, A retinol,  K2 and KoAct if my Ca intake from diet is down.

Any suggestions welcome, Thanks

0 likes, 15 replies

15 Replies

• Posted

Not sure what the abbreviations stand for Lynne, please explain them.

Do you know your  tscores?

interested,

Kathleen

• Posted

Hi Kathleen

SR is Strontium Ranelate, or Protelos. Several of us on the NOS Forum were on this until Servier stopped making it last year.   It was a good NHS alternative to bisphosphanates, if you couldn’t tolerate these.  It had the advantage of stimulating both the osteoblasts and osteoclasts so was kick starting the normal bone turnover process.

I originally was given Alendronic acid after falling and breaking both wrists in 2010.  I had to stop taking it due to bone pains and symptoms of a reoccurring gut ulcer.   The Strontium Ranelate on the other hand didn’t cause me any problems.  

I could go back to buying Strontium Citrate supplement,  which I took for a short time before eventually getting prescription Strontium Ranelate.  This also agreed with me,  but I’m cautious about using none regulated supplements, particularly from the internet, as my first line of defence for OP.

I presently take Drs Best Vit D3 from the Internet, but I monitor my blood level so know this brand works.  I take either 2000 IU or 5000 IU depending on my blood level and the season. I aim for an optimal level of between 150 to 170 nmol/L.

The others I cannot monitor unfortunately,   Magnesium bisglycinate,  cod liver oil for A retinol, both from Holland and Barrett.  Life Extention Super K ( 200mcg   mk7 + 1mg Mk4 ) and   Carlson mk4 5mg.