What is wrong with me???

Posted , 5 users are following.

So here is the thing... I don’t even know where to start...

I feel like this is a phase and it will pass, but for some reason it is not. I am starting to feel like I need help, but I am too embarrassed to ask. If I went to see my GP, I just feel like I would be wasting his/her time and he would just say that I am delusional (in a much nicer way, of course).

So for the past year and a half I have been feeling pretty down. 1.5 year ago was when I started University, I feel like this has a lot to do with my depression (or whatever this is).  I am a mature student (still pretty young) and my University is about an hour drive. The driving also brings me a lot of anxiety. I still haven’t connected with anyone on my course and I seem to be avoiding people, I prefer to be alone and I just want everyone to leave me alone. I have become very awkward and although I have always been an introvert I feel like it has become extreme. My speech has become weird, I cannot say what I want to because I just start jumping over words, I mess my sentences up and make no sense.

My family have noticed that I have become very anxious about everything and anything. I just wish I could control myself and become my old self. I don’t enjoy the things I used to... I used to love going out just to dance all night, now I can’t imagine going out now. My self-esteem has also become very low, I don’t want to go out, I don’t want people to see me. I hate public places and encounters. I just feel like I have nothing in common with anyone else. I don’t even enjoy talking to my family on the phone anymore. I feel like nobody enjoys being around me and everyone is against me. I rarely see anyone else but my husband and child.

I am so confused. I don’t know if this is depression or if it is just the person that I have become. sad

Reading all of this over just makes me want tell myself to suck it up and stop feeling sorry for myself.