What to do

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi I have sero negative inflammatory arthritis,diagnosed in Nov last year I have osteoarthritis as well in my hands and toes diagnosed 2 years ago. I'm confused and don't know what to do about my work I'm of sick at the moment as my hands swell up and were painful

I am a delivery driver and it's very physical job

I have no energy and am thinking of giving up work I have no quality of life at the moment work go to bed at 7.30 every night so tired I still think I can work and keep fighting it but I'm totally worn out

I feel emotional all the time I have a dose of steroids injection in my buttock and was on sulfasalazine 4 a day and now on methotrexate as well will this stop pain and fatigue the occupational therapist said that I should 4 to 5 hours a day max but what can I do I was in the building trade gave that up because osteoarthritis so decided to do driving job but it's wearing me out any thing I do is tiring me out

1 like, 9 replies

9 Replies

• Posted

I do really sympathise Dean, I have RA and OA, my right knee needs replacing and im not yet 50....Unfortunately, the fatigue is here to stay...but work or not, you will feel tired...sorry...sleep and rest when you can, eat well and take your meds...I still work fulltime,I am a self employed gardener...I have no choice, or my bills dont get paid.. and yes it does hurt, but I work round it...Can you ask your employers to put you in a less taxing position ? Good luck
    • Posted

Thanks for your reply Julie

I'm on a six month contract finishes in June don't think they will renew it ,

It's a full on job and there is no chance of lighter duty's, I have insurance s in place but the problem is will they pay up it covers ra and will pay my mortgage off so I'll have to see if not see what other job I can do I'm 51 it's so frustrating my mind says I can do it but body won't thanks again

• Posted