What to eat prior to colonoscopy

Posted , 5 users are following.

I am scheduled to have a colonoscopy at 8.00am  on 3rd Nov. The preparation is Moviprep. As I have previously mentioned in earlier post I am not very good with taking this but have given myself a good talking to and will stop stressing over it. To make it easier on myself what foods should I be eating from now until the test? The less I have to clear out the better! Any words of wisdom much appreciated. 

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Hello, I think you will be given a det sheet of what you can eat beforehand, 2 members of my family had this and I am due to have one soon too. Good luck!
  • Posted

I recently had my second colonoscopy.  The instructions I received from QMC Nottingham were to avoid eating seeds, pips, seeded bread, tomatoes and sweetcorn 7 days before the procedure as well as to stop taking iron tablets, anticoagulants.

Two days prior eat only a low fibre diet: eggs (boiled/poached), white bread/toast, clear jelly (not red), potatoes (boiled and mashed, no skins), chicken, turkey, port, white rice and pasta, jam/marmalade (no bits), plain white fish (cod haddock), tea, coffee (black only), water, clear soup (transparent/seived), squash/cordial (not fruit juice)

Avoid: red meat, sausage, pies, butter, margarine, dairy products, fruit, veg, potatoes skins/chips, wholemeal bread/pasta/rice, nuts, pulses, beans, cream, salad, cakes, biscuits.

Drink plenty of fluids.

The last two days were particularly boring but I did stick to it and the effects of the  Moviprep were not as dramatic as my previous experience.

Like you I had to brace myself so I took 5 gulps of Moviprep followed by a couple of  sips of Sanpellegrino limonata - that cleared the taste of the Moviprep immediately.

Good luck.

• Posted