What treatment next

Posted , 4 users are following.

I was wondeirng if anyone can advise on what to do next.

I have chronic constipation with my UC and have been having a flare for over 2 years now.

I've had two hospital stays and the Dr's do not seem to listen/care when i speak to them about how difficult things are for me.

Im currently taking 150mg azathioprine (max dose for me weight) mesalasine orally, linaclotide for contipation and docusate in the evenings as well.  pred and mesalasine suppositories and have an entyvo infuision every 8 weeks.

Firstly- i cannot get on with the suppositories, they absolutly stink and using two different types (sometimes up to 4 a dfay) i feel interferes with my constipation and makes it worse. I've been telling the dr's for two years that i cant get on with them, i may sort of stop bleeding fo ra bit, its minimal but one missed day results in loads of blood loss again even with the azathiporine and entyvo. Oral pred. has not touched a flare in the past and bnoth times i have been prescibed it by the GP i have been so far gone that  i've ended up in hospital anyway.

Im so consipated i feel like i have heart burn all the time and dont want to eat. I really dont know what to do. The dr's just seem to fob me off. I saw the consultant in dec and he organmised and urgent colonoscopy that i had in jan and a three month follow up. I still havent seen them as my appointment was rebooked three times.

The consultant who did my colonoscopy yet again said i should use suppositories and didnt listen to the issues i have with using them. surely the medication has to work for the patient too?? ?

I tried to speak to my gp last week about my concerns and they said 'make sure you see a consultant and be firm'. as if two years and multiple meetings with the pals team and investigations isnt enough. I just really dont know what to do any more.