When to take antibiotics?

Posted , 6 users are following.

I am away on holiday and have developed a deep cough. It is nothing I would normally be concerned about but a few months ago I was diagnosed with mild emphysema. I am new to this and realise noone has informed me of what to do in a case like this. Normally I would see my gp but obviously dont have that ability seeing I am away. I have antibiotics. Do you take them with a normal cough? I feel fine but just have a deep cough. Coughing up stuff but it is clear (excuse the detail but I think colour is significantsmile Any advice appreciated. I am meaning towards taking them to be safe.

0 likes, 11 replies

11 Replies

• Posted

Hello Cookies

If your cough is normal and if your phlegm is also normal I would not take them.

What you are looking for is signs and symtoms of declline in your condition such as an infection.

Changes in color of phlegm (not clear)

Changes in amount of phlegm

Increased shortness of breath

Possible fever

COPD coughs and phlegm go hand in hand. What you are looking for are signs things have changed as described above.

Sometimes, for instance, if you are in a climate that is more humid, you may find yourself coughing more or having increased phlegm but does not mean you have an infection.

• Posted

Thanks for your response. I have put a call into my gp so that I can talk to them. it is frustrating that you are given this diagnosis but no real directive on what to do in cases like this. I feel ok but the cough is quite hacking. I am at a high altitude (skiing) so I am more out of breath but then so is my husband. I know my oxygen is fine. (My daughter has asthma so I always carry an oxygen reader) I'll see what my doctor says. I do wish doctors were more informative.
  • Posted