Which Foley Catheter is Best?

Posted , 6 users are following.

I've been doing CIC (self-cath) for 4 years due to my very large prostate (300cc). As I do not have a median lobe, I still have a good NV (200cc) during the day. I do 2 to 4 CIC's over a 24 hour period. I use the Speedicath 14fr Coude Hydrophilic catheter. Over the years I've tried other catheters but this one has always been the best for me. I have never ever had a problem with it, and as jimjames once promised CIC has become easier than flossing my teeth.

But a week ago I seemed to have nicked the prostate and it started to bleed. The bleeding is on the outside of the catheter when I take it out. There is no blood in the urine as I empty it into the toilet from the catheter. But as soon as I get the catheter out there is a lot of blood flow from the penis into the toilet. It is like a nose bleed.

It takes about 10 minutes for the bleeding to stop. Then the next time I have a NV some dried blood comes out first followed by a clear urine stream.

My urologist says I should put a Foley in for a week to give the wound on the prostate time to heal. But I have never used one and find them very scary! I wish to ask this forum for advice on Foleys. Are some types better than other for this problem? I would need a Coude tip to get through my large prostate but are coude tips bad inside the bladder?

And what about bladder spasms? Are there good drugs without side effects or are there easier ways to avoid/deal with spasms.

Are UTIs common with Foleys as well as bladder/kidney infections?

Thanks for your help.

Howard

0 likes, 10 replies

10 Replies

• Posted

Hi Howard:

I can't really answer your question, but I responded in your earlier post regarding your recent CIC issue.