Which lens to chose

Posted , 8 users are following.

I have choices between a fixed lens covered by inusrance

A multi focal distance for $1100

And a lens for 20/20, no glasses needed for $3,000.

Any advice? Thank you!

0 likes, 19 replies

19 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

I am new to the cataract business as you seem to be also. All the different lens choices are hard for me to figure out, but in doing my research I did find one particular article to be helpful in understanding more about the lens choices.

I don't think we can post direct links so do a google search for:

sciencedirect(.)com/science/article/pii/S016142020308435 and check it out. You need to remove the parentheses around the period, then you could copy and paste into a browser.

Good luck with your choices. I have my first consultation next Wednesday, and look forward to seeing what the surgeon recommends!

• Posted

bricks, I tried that info in my browser and could not find the article. It may help if you give the title, author, and date of the article. This site is a major pain in that it does not allow the inclusion of actual links.

• Posted

RonAKA, I tried it and it didn't work for me either.

Here is the title of article and author:

"Matching the patient to the intraocular lens: Preoperative considerations to optimize surgical outcomes" by Elizabeth Yeu, M.D. published 08/30/2020 i believe.

Hope that helps!

• Posted

OK, yes I have that article saved. It does cover a lot of the issues with IOLs but I found it a bit difficult to read. It is basically a summary of the findings of many different studies, and at times uses very technical terminology.

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!