White blood cells and glucose in urine?

Posted , 6 users are following.

I'm 40 male, 5'8", 140lb, white, British.

I've been experiencing frequent urination but no other symptoms. I went to the doctors today and they gave me a urine test.

She said there were traces of glucose and white blood cells in my urine. She has asked me to go in for a blood test and I think a Prostate psa test.

I'm worried it could be something serious?

0 likes, 6 replies

6 Replies

• Posted

Bflare,

I am not a doctor either but according to Google white blood cells or leukocytes can mean either a urinary track infection or irritation of the urethra that is not due to an infection.If you have a urinary infection it may progress within a day or two until you have a temperature and your urine smells bad. You should collect your urine in a container preferably a measuring cup. If it smells bad or gets cloudy, see a doctor as soon as possible for more testing, urine culture, and a possible antibiotic prescription. Beware of after hours and weekends because it could happen when your doctor's office is closed (usually does). Then you may have to go to an Urgent care, or Emergency clinic.

Don't know about the glucose, perhaps it's just a temporary thing, but your doctor is right to get blood tests.

Good luck,

Thomas

• Posted

HI Bflare

i agree with the others about a possible urinary tract infection ( Uti) although it could also indicate diabetes , do you have any other symptoms , weight loss , thirsty ? if you are worried some chemists here in the Uk will do a simple finger prick test for you to check your blood glucose for diabetes.

• Posted

Hi there. I have no other symptoms apart from needing to wee a little bit more frequest. Apart from that nothing.

• Posted

I wouldnt panic , your symptoms are mild . only traces of glucose and white blood cells you say.