who decides?

Posted , 2 users are following.

i was due to have surgery earlier this year but had to postpone due to my financial situation,being self employed ,i couldnt afford the time off work.

After reading of everyones experiences ,im dreading this op.I was just wondering if anyone knows who makes the decision on wether the wound is left open to heal ?The impression i was given by my doc was that it was up to me but apparently the surgeon decides depending on how much tissue is taken away.If it was up to me ,i would have it closed to reduce healing time as i work as a bricklayer which involves a lot of bending and really cant afford to lose a lot of time off work.Any advice greatly appreciated

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

i was told it was in the hands of the surgeon(who would choose the best option for myself).i read alot about wounds that have been stiched only to get infected easily again.my option was letting it heal inside out!!!!
  • Posted

Hi,

Yeah i had a closed excision last year as they heal quicker, it got infected and I was still having problems 9 months later. I did some research and found in the states they have a procedure called the Bascom procedure which heals within two weeks. However, only about 9 doctors or so in the UK are familiar with this. I decided I wanted to be seen by one to get their opinion, I ended up travelling about 2 hours to the nearest one, he said he could do it, I had the operation 6 weeks ago and am totally back to normal. I wish I'd had it done sooner. The wound was healed over in 9 days! If you want to search it's called the 'cleft lift' - very few surgeons know this procedure, but there are about a dozen max in the UK that do it, I guess it depends on how lucky you are to be near one.

Good luck!!

• Posted

thanks for that natbatz,i live in the west of scotland ,any idea if there is a surgeon up here who does this op?
  • Posted

Hiya,