Wht does this mri report say and and should the VA have done anything becidea give me pills

Posted , 5 users are following.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

I'm not a doctor but I've read reports like this about myself in the past. It appears to say you have a bulging disc at the lowest level of your spine (L5/S1), and that it is pressing against the nerve coming out of that area and that goes down your leg, which is probably causing your leg pain (commonly known as sciatica). The bulge has gotten larger over time. You also have some mild arthritis in your spine at that level and at the two levels just above that area which might be causing some mild lumbar pain (or perhaps no lumbar pain at all). There is no disc bulge anywhere else other than that one area.

The good news appears to be that you don't have any spinal stenosis (narrowing of the area where the nerves leave your spine) and none of your vertebrae are fractured. Your spine is aligned properly.

What else could the VA have done? Compared to MRIs I've received in the past, your issues appear to be fairly mild - and VERY common for middle-aged folks. The conservative course of treatment for you would have been pain medications and physical therapy. More aggressive treatment would be to go in and repair the disc bulge but very often doctors hold off on doing that until nothing else works - because as the doctors will often tell you, back surgery begets more back surgery down the line. The longer you can postpone it and rely on more conservative methods the better.