Why do I feel this way

Posted , 2 users are following.

I was wondering if I could get any help or at least hear from someone who understands what I'm going through.

I'm a 21 year old girl. And I don't understand why other peoples thoughts effect me so much. Depending on the day a slight negative comment can just ruin my day or reduce me to tears. Something as my friend jokingly saying "I hate you" ( after I told her I couldn't give her a ride) made me feel so guilty and made me feel terrible. I feel like I obsess on how others perceive me. It's not only friends but family and stupidly a comment from a random person of the internet can not only upset me but make me furious.

I find it so strange at how intense these feelings are. Most of the time I'm upset simply due to the fact I let someone's opinion get to me.

I'd love to see a therapist, but maybe once I move out or I can at least pay for it myself.

I'm studying psychology with Counselling and I feel I should know the answer to this haha.

Anyways, sorry for the ramble. I was just wondering if anyone had a a better idea then I do.

Thank you

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Feeling like this is part of anxiety and depression. Lack of self asteam or confidence. Your apology for asking kinda said it all. You have to learn to love yourself as a person. Is university the first time you have been away from home? Does the university run self awareness courses? I so sign up. But believe in yourself. You have rights. You can say no to giving lifts and think nothing more about it. You can be you. Peopl will love the realyou. The one who does and says what she wants and how she feels. And if you need help go see your GP you can get counselling on the NHS and one day do the same foe someone else feeling the way you do now. Good luck.
  • Posted

Thank you so much for replying. Your insight was truly helpful and it's given me some guidance and made my thoughts much clearer.
  • Posted