Will a chiropractor be able to reduce my hiatus hernia???

Posted , 6 users are following.

After visiting my doctors on multiple occasions with no help I have decided to try and find help from different places. I have tried changing my diet and exercising and have been on various medications to no avail. Does anyone know whether a chiropractor will be able to help reduce my hernia or even get rid of it fully?

My doctors will not refer me as my situation is apparently not severe enough and I don't really know what else to do. I don't really want to have surgery if a chiropractor can help.

0 likes, 14 replies

14 Replies

• Posted

I'm not a medical professional, but my guess is that you would be wasting your time and money on trying to get your hernia reduced.  Reducing a hernia, does not cure the hernia, it merely pushes the protruding contents back through the opening, but leaves the opening unchanged.  In your case you have an overly-large hiatus, that allowed part of your stomach to be pushed through and if the stomach can be manipulated to be pushed back, after a while (probably a very short while) the stomach will herniate through the hiatus again.  

You didn't mention the type of hiatus hernia you have.  If it is a sliding hiatus hernia, it is constantly self-reducing and herniating as it slides back and forth through the hiatus.  If it's paraesophageal, and if I were you, I'd be responding to this thread from the recovery room after having surgery to repair it.  

Good luck.  

• Posted

I have been seeing a chiropractor for back problems and she has also helped by giving me some exercises for my sliding hernia. They have really helped along with very careful diet. Managed to really reduce medication, so I am pleased. Might also try acupuncture as that has had some good research around it.
    • Posted

hi there. may i please request information of this chiro? we live in the UK it is for my mum.

thank you

• Posted