Will Bulimia have long term effect on my vocal folds?

Posted , 3 users are following.

I'm studying singing at a very competitive school - focussing mainly on opera and song.

I'm trying so desperately to give up my eating habits and chose a healthier lifestyle. Sometimes I fall back into old habits, and this usually lasts a week. Other times I can keep my lifestyle balance and don't fall into the Bulimia Nervosa trap.

How much effect will my sickness have on my voice long term?

Will I be making irreversible damage?

0 likes, 8 replies

8 Replies

• Posted

I have been B/P for almost 4/5 months now and the more you do this the more damage you will make on the body and mind.  Everyone is different in how they react to purging but if you are purging on a consistant basis it can lead to a lot of different irreversible damages like The research on the damage that frequent forced vomiting (usually in the context of an eating disorder such as Bulimia Nervosa) causes to vocal cords is somewhat inconclusive. But it does point to likely damage of vocal cords as a result of small amounts of vomit finding its way into the larynx each time you vomit. How many times does one have to vomit to cause damage? This is unclear and it may not be the same for everyone, but there is risk of vocal cord damage, voice changes over time, chronic laryngitis, and/or hoarseness developing as a result of the purging.I know when I have jusy purged I sound really gruff
  • Posted

Dear Will to Change,

Yes it does, I have expierenced it as wel! Because of the fact that your school is so competetive it brings a lot of stress/anxiety with it somethimes, correct me if I am wrong.

It is good that you can control yourself, but after a while this will be normal for you allowing yourself a binge/purge and it migh even feel as a relief which will make you do it more and more often. After that you can deffenitly make damage on your voice cause of the purging!