Withdrawal Coping Methods

Posted , 5 users are following.

I'm about three weeks off mirtazapine and it has been a physical and emotional roller coaster to say the least with moments of feeling really good and hopeful to times of feeling horrible and feeling like this will never end and that I can't do this any longer.

I try to exercise more, read, play video games, meditation daily to help me through some of the tough times but was wondering what are some things others do. Was hoping to help each other with some ways to cope with getting off mirtazapine if possible so any ideas would be appreciated!

0 likes, 5 replies

5 Replies

• Posted

Hi Rob...

I know is hard but let me tell you that This is my first time ever doing a withdrawal and after taking mirtazapine 30mg for almost 3 years and quitting cold turkey I think the best way to withdraw is by putting aside any other antidepressants and just letting it take its course, I'm not saying going completely raw, I took Valium probably 3 times during my now 5 months withdrawal and that's literally it, no switching to another antidepressants, just pacing around in the house, one day I locked myself in a room and cried out loud all day cause I felt hopeless and couldn't take it anymore, my husband and kids were there and heard me cried like a maniac but after I came out of the room and they asked me to go the park with them I knew things weren't so bad... what I'm trying to say is that no matter how bad you feel, try your best to see the positive things..,I did it has helped tremendously, I think there is only one way of coping and is going clean and positively thinking that it will get better... no medications messing up your nerves confusing them...I know it sounds easy but is the hardest thing I've ever done and I think that's why today I have a clear mind and even though my sleep isn't 100% I'm passed the worst and I'm trying my best to live a medication free life, and that after been molested as a child, my dau