Withdrawing from Mirtazapine 15MG ADVICE

Posted , 4 users are following.

I have been on this Med for 1 1/2 months. I am experiencing 4 out of 5 common side effects and have not seen the doctor since they were subscribed. (She has rescheduled twice)

Any advice on withdrawal will be appreciated. Wish I had never taken them.

Sylvia

0 likes, 16 replies

16 Replies

• Posted

What side effects are they. It agreed with me and cured my lack of appetite, anxiety and gave me good deep sleep. Unwanted ones for me, overeating and drowsy on morning til lunch time but not sorry I took it as right at the time when other AD not helping.
    • Posted

Weird dreams, vision changes, overeating, weight gain, constipation. I conclude this is not for me but I have no clue as to how I get off of it.

Thanks so much for your reply. I am new to this process.

Sylvia

• Posted

For me I would try and get advice even over the phone. As you have only been on it 6 weeks shouldn't be too hard. Try halfing the 15 mg tablet? You haven't said whether they have helped with your depression because it did for me hence sticking with it.
    • Posted

Actually the only changes I have noticed are the side effects. It was prescribed to me for depression, anxiety, and sleep. The weird dreams prevent quality sleep.

If this doctor does not reschedule again I will see her on Friday. So, as you suggested, I might be able to get help with withdrawal.

Thank you

Sylvia

• Posted

Hi Sylvia

Hi, sorry to hear of your hard time with Mirt'.  To address your question, first be aware that the doctor may well want to increase your dose to

30 mg; the lower dose is usually a start up at 15 mg and that dose deals with anxiety and insomnia quite well.  The higher doses 30 & 45 mg are used more for depression.  Quite a few folk on this forum have experienced an increase in anxiety going from 15 to 30.