Work and health dilemma

Posted , 7 users are following.

Hi. I've had ME for about 13 years and although during the early years the symptoms would fluctuate there has been little change for the last 6 years or so and it got so bad that I kept going sick from work and had drastically cut my hours to just 2 half days a week which I've been doing for about the last 3 years. My employer has been very accommodating and they still make me feel like a valued member of staff and I like my job but I have continued to struggle to manage even this. I put on a brave face and push through but the truth is I feel dreadful and working is using almost every bit of energy I have, leaving nothing for myself. I can't look after myself as well as I should, I'm too exhausted to prepare healthy meals or clean the house etc. So I keep thinking I should leave my job and concentrate on improving my health and maybe have some kind of life outside of the work and crash cycle I currently operate on but I talk myself out of it because it quite scares me not to have the security of a (small) regular wage. I get some benefits (my job counts as 'permitted work') but it's not a reliable souse of income and I'm scared of them taking it away and I shall be left without any income at all and be forced into an even harder work situation. But if I get better it might be worth the risk.Has anyone else out there given up their jobs and found any great health improvements? Thanks.

0 likes, 4 replies

4 Replies

• Posted

Hi there Olivetree,

it is so difficult to know what to do isn't?