Yoga

Posted , 7 users are following.

Good morning,

I am 10 months post op. My surgeon said that I can return to Yoga after a full year. Has anyone returned to Yoga prior to a year? I really long for those Yoga stretches.

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

I started doing yoga at 7 months post op. I started training Jiu Jitsu again at 8.5 months. I modify a couple things but overall feel good.

• Posted

Hi Cristina,

I went back to Pilates after six months, we do a lot of stretching, balancing on one leg etc., It has helped me enormously especially with my back.

• Posted

I did a 6 week Pilates class run by the physio dept at the hospital from 6 weeks post op. It was one hour per week. I also was back at the gym from week 5, three times a week for 30 mins, followed by 30 mins walking and exercising in the pool. I returned to normal Pilates classes at the gym from week 13 post op. Yoga I waited a bit longer for. It was about 5 months post op and took it very steady. I'm now 14 months post op and do Pilates and aqua fit 4 times a week and yoga once a week. It's important to follow your doctors advice though and when you do start again be very careful

All the best

Ann

• Posted

Don't push it too fast ... remember

• Posted

Thank you. I Think that is what my problem is. I was a runner and was running several miles daily. Now I walk and get frustrated. Hubby keeps reminded me to pace myself and not over do it. But, I am definately following doctor's orders.

• Posted

It's the opposite for me - I was never a sporty person, but this year for the first time ever I joined a gym. I saw benefits in weight loss and muscle strength following my THR 3 years ago. I also purchased a bicycle, and used that a lot.

When my ceramic shattered (it was put in wrongly), my leg strength was all that was holding my leg together. Having had another revision in July, I was released to go back to the gym and 'restricted golf' at 10 weeks !