Your Autoimmune Neutropenia story

Posted , 3 users are following.

I feel like most of the threads are “help me” threads, begging for advice or support. Perhaps it would be helpful for anyone who has been diagnosed with Autoimmune Neutropenia to share their story; initial symptoms, discovery process, living with the condition. It might help those who think they may being going through it, too.

I had frequent infections (URI, cold sores, stomach viruses) for a few years and swore to my husband that I had a poor immune system. Little did I know that it was literally true. In Oct. ‘17, I had labs done by a rheumatologist and my WBC/ANC came back 2.1/0.73. I received no call from that doctor regarding the abnormality but I noticed it via the online portal. Being a nurse, I knew to be concerned. I went to the ER for vertigo 2 days later and mentioned my abnormal labs to that Dr. but he lied to me at discharge and told me my labs came back normal. So when I saw the results I did some digging into my historical labs and saw that I had low WBC/ANC the previous year during pre-op labs. I had my PCP (GP) send me to a hematologist. He did some more labs and said, “It could be leukemia but I don’t think so. We should ‘watch and wait.’” I insisted on a bone marrow biopsy and he told me the results were normal and that he didn’t want to treat me when my numbers were low unless I got sick enough to be hospitalized. I was not satisfied with his lack of desire to find out WHY I was neutropenic so I went to Mayo. He retested the same BMB sample and said my results were not normal. I have reticulin fibrosis (scarring) in my marrow, which indicates that I’m developing another condition but since it’s in development, we don’t know what it is yet. He suspects lupus but I won’t know for 5-10 years.