Your experience of physical symptoms?

Posted , 10 users are following.

Hi everyone, it's my first time posting here and I just wanted to look for some reassurance/advice from people going through the same thing as me.

Basically I've had anxiety and OCD since I was very young, but have managed almost symptoms free for the last year or so- until I started university a few weeks ago and now everything is back and 10x worse.

I had a virus a few weeks ago (they think it was flu) and I was sent into hospital to make sure it wasn't viral meningitis (because it's more common in uni students now) which thankfully it wasn't but this sparked an awful period of health anxiety. 

In the past two and a half weeks, I've seen 4 doctors, been to A&E twice, had 3 blood tests, a urine test and a chest x Ray and nothing of concern has been found. 

Logically i think my symptoms are anxiety, so I was wondering if people could chip in on whether they've experienced the same symptoms? Also how do I trust the that the doctors would pick up anything noteworthy? Surely 4 doctors couldn't all miss something awful? When I try and convince myself that it's just the anxiety by kind says 'but what if it isn't? It's too risky to leave it'. 

Basically my symptoms comprise of-

Shortness of breath 

Extreme tiredness and fatigue 

Feeling weak/shaky/faint 

Loss of appetite 

Head aches- particularly on one side at the back 

My chest feels 'heavy', almost like my lungs are tired 

Feeling out of it, possibly depersonalisation 

Also in class sometimes I can't keep my eyes open and my focus goes (this makes me panic about a brain tumour)

Occasional muscle twitches 

Sometimes tremors when I'm really bad 

I would love any help and guidance as I feel so desperate and alone. 

I'm already on medication and am starting CBT next week.

Thank you so much 

1 like, 13 replies

13 Replies

• Posted