Achalasia and POEM treatment in UK

Posted , 13 users are following.

Hi all. I'm about to have POEM treatment for Achalasia and have been posting on other pages, but as there doesn't seem to be a 'blow by blow' account of anyones tests, treatment and results, so I thought I would put mine out there for everyone else who has to go through this crap, so they can get an idea of timescale.

I hope this helps.

0 likes, 52 replies

52 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Oct 2017

Hi all. Newbie here, just found this forum [biggrin]

I'm 43 years ancient and have been suffering with this cr*p for about 10 years.

I've had all the tests and have been through the 'you're making it up/imagining it' phase. I'd been taking 40mg Omeprazole twice a day and that sort of kept it in check until December 2016.

At that point things went downhill again and I eventually managed to convince my GP that I should have ANOTHER camera crew down my throat to have another look.

Part of the prep for this was I had to stop taking the tablets so it didn't interfere with a biopsy.

Oh boy, was that a mistake.....

Xmas was horrible, and I spent the new year in A+E on drips as I hadn't eaten or drank anything for 7 days.

I had the camera crew in and achlasia was confirmed....FINALLY.

I needed a pressure test but my local hospital (Lister in Stevenage) couldn't do it so I was sent up to Cambridge.

That confirmed the confirmation and Lister said I needed surgery...which they couldn't do, so I was packed off to UCLH in London.

At this point I've lost 2 1/2 stone and aLot of muscle mass.

By this time I couldn't work as I have a physical job and I'm now as weak as a newborn puppy. I'm also self employed which means I also now have no money coming in.....joy.

In November I'm booked in for a Timed Barium Swallow so they can then decide what type of surgery to do.

Hopefully it will show I'm completely knackered and that they get on with it quickly.