.25 Klonopin twice a day for 3 months

Posted , 5 users are following.

Hi. I've been on Klonopin .25 twice a day for almost 3 months. I was a mess three months ago while trying to get on an ssri. With the help of the Klonopin I'm now on 10mg of celexa and feel good! I'm ready to stop the Klonopin as I think now it is just making me tired. I'm sure my doc will agree to help me stop the Klonopin tomorrow as she wasn't planning on it being long term, only until I got stable on Celexa. I'm scared to death of for some reason having horrible withdrawal. I had an awful experience coming off cymbalta after 12 years and now finally feel good again. Should I be this terrified of coming off Klonopin after 3 months? All I see is horror stories online!

0 likes, 25 replies

25 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Have u heard of the Ashton Manual?
    • Posted

I used the Ashton Manual to cross over from Halcion to Valium. When i worked as a moderator on the forum TRAP which has since closed down, the Ashton Manual was the basic for the advice we used to guide people people through their tapers. Thousands of people have successfully tapered using this manual as a guide and most Facebook support groups also use the Ashton Manual as a basic guide. I find the tapering schedule a little harsh and usually recommend that people take slightly smaller cuts and allow themselves a bit more time between cuts but the bottom line is if you follow the manual you will be safe. 
  • Posted

I saw my doc today. She is having me half the daytime dose but keep the nighttime dose the same for 3 weeks. After that I will half the nighttime dose and do that for another 3 weeks. After that, I have another appointment.
    • Posted

Thats a huge cut! The Ashton Manual recommends cuts of 5-10% of your dose  every 10 days or so, 
    • Posted

That is too big of a cut. Read the Ashton Manual and like Coby said Klonopin can definitely turn around and bite you in the butt if you taper too fast. 
    • Posted