16 days post op

Posted , 11 users are following.

I have never been so excited in my whole life. I am a 60 year old runner and have been completely up front with my Dr & PT that I will run again.

My PT has told me that he has never seen recovery like this and how quickly it has happened. I have complete range of motion and am absolutely pain free with no hip or leg rerstriction.

I work in the running industry and was told I would be out of work 4-6 weeks. Well I have been cleared to work but with no lifting or deep bending. I am riding a bike and doing stretching without any difficulity. ZI am a hard worker who does not take no for an answer but I do listen closely to my body. 

I am NOT going to run until a full 60 days is up in order for a complete healing of the joint and stem. I'm motivated but not stupid but I also know what I can do.

My advice to everyone and I know everyone is different but keep that hip moving and do the exercises and walk walk walk and get off those damm meds. Its always been my belief that the meds are only a band aide when it comes with pain. I dealt with it and it was soon over. For me I had zero pain meds after the first day. I like dealing with reality.

Be POSITIVE and yes listen to your doctor but more so listen to your body. Get out there and do exactly what you did prior to your hip replacement

I wish everyone all my best,

Billy

5 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Great to hear Billy - as I'm keen to get back to my sporting life too. Echo debbi1949's question though - I'm guessing you had anterior approach?
    • Posted

Thank you very much. Yes anterior procedure. I had the best doctor in the world and his name is Dr James Hartford out of Stanford & PAMF
    • Posted

That's only 200 miles from me..... I'M seeing Dr. Brock Cummings in Chico. I wonder if they know each other?
    • Posted