200 units a week

Posted , 23 users are following.

Hi, I am a 57 year old man, I drink every day after work, I work up to 12 hours a day including travelling. I drink 4 to 6 pints of lager and a bottle of wine every night. I never get drunk, I never pass out or make a fool of myself, I lead a happy and full life with my wife and children, my wife seldom drinks and my 16 and 19 year old children both at college, show no interest in drink, which is good. I am overweight, but apart from that, I am relatively healthy for my age. I earn good money and as I said we have a good life. I'm not moaning, but am I a freak of nature. I do know the terrible things alcohol does to peoples lives, and consider myself lucky, I also only sleep about 5 hours a night.

Please dont say it will creep up on me, Ive been doing this for 35 years, in actual fact in my twentys I used to drink more. It is not something I'm proud of, nor am I ashamed, its just me. Yours thoughts please.

1 like, 27 replies

27 Replies

Next
  • Posted

There is some reason why you came here though, Jim smile

Is it worrying you?

That level of drinking WILL affect your heart, liver, kidneys, pancreas and brain. The way to see if you have a physical dependence is to try and go for a few days without a drink (but have some around just in case you get withdrawal symptoms.)

It's not for anyone here to dictate what you should do, but you did ask smile

• Posted

Hi Jim,