200 units a week

Posted , 23 users are following.

Hi, I am a 57 year old man, I drink every day after work, I work up to 12 hours a day including travelling. I drink 4 to 6 pints of lager and a bottle of wine every night. I never get drunk, I never pass out or make a fool of myself, I lead a happy and full life with my wife and children, my wife seldom drinks and my 16 and 19 year old children both at college, show no interest in drink, which is good. I am overweight, but apart from that, I am relatively healthy for my age. I earn good money and as I said we have a good life. I'm not moaning, but am I a freak of nature. I do know the terrible things alcohol does to peoples lives, and consider myself lucky, I also only sleep about 5 hours a night.

Please dont say it will creep up on me, Ive been doing this for 35 years, in actual fact in my twentys I used to drink more. It is not something I'm proud of, nor am I ashamed, its just me. Yours thoughts please.

1 like, 27 replies

27 Replies

Prev
  • Posted

Hi Jim, you are not a creep at all!  You are just part of the proportion of the population which is not afffected by alcohol. 

That is good because you have never, and cannot experience alcoholic cravings and this protect your family and your social life. Indeed your testimony demonstrate that your are not addicted.

This is not all good though :

30% percent of cancer are due to alcohol over consumption and this also increases dramatically your risk of a stroke. Unfortunately the fact that you do not have the genetic brain patern which give you the drunk feeling does NOT protect your liver, your throat, your stomach and your hart. 

The question is now : is being around for longer to support your wife and children and perhaps to see you grandchildren coming to this happy family is a goal worth seeking?  It seems that, as you are not addicted, that should be easy for you to dimish this over consumption ad to give your body a rest.... your call... :-)

• Posted