53 and feeling really low with PMR

Posted , 9 users are following.

Hi I’m new to the discussions on here. I’m 53 and was diagnosed with PMR 9 months ago. I started with such pain in my right hip which almost stopped me riding. Then terrible pain in my right shoulder / neck. 20 mg steroids stopped the pain straight away and Iv been coming g down slowly. But!!! Maybe it’s the menopause too but feeling bloody awful!!!! I’m getting like growing pains in my legs and arms   I’m so tearful !!! My hair is falling out in handfuls and Iv put o. Sooo much weight.  To top it all I can’t get an app with doc for wks. I decided to take myself off the steroids ... stupid I know but just cannot stand the side effects ... moon face is an understatement!! And night sweats. Sorry!!!! Just had to moan to people who understand!!😪

0 likes, 7 replies

7 Replies

• Posted

Good morning Nina from the US

I'm sorry to hear of your diagnosis like you I am much younger than the average I was 55 when I was diagnosed last fall. I too have acquired moonface I can tell from looking at pictures but being nearly paralyzed upper and lower body before I was diagnosed it is a small price to pay. If you have just recently taking yourself off Prednisone,I would highly suggest you reconsider because debilitating pain will come back at you with a vengeance if you indeed have PMR. Moonface will be the least of your worries. I'm sure you will receive the benefit of lots of experience here shortly. Take good care. Janet

• Posted

Thankyou  Janet. 

I woke with such pain in my legs and arms / shoulders today that I know I need to go back on them ASAP. It’s just so hard isn’t it because it brings you down actually feeling a bit depressed. I don’t recognise myself lately and find not being able to ride or go to the gym frustrating. I will be calling doc again tom morning to see if I can get in soon. Feel sorry for my family too with putting up with my moods!!🤭

Thanks again x

• Posted