6 mo. - 1 yr how far can you bend?

Posted , 2 users are following.

Hi All, My second post and I'm stressing. I've been doing flooring for 30 years (Since a freshman in high school) It's all I know and I love it still mainly because of the thrill I get out of seeing all your faces after I come and put in your new hardwood floor or custom carpet. Nevertheless, It's all I know. My doctor says "you'll never go back to kneeling".

My question is focused to the post-op patients who have been able to bend further than 90 degrees. In all actuality I rarely bend further than that and would like to know what kind of feedback I would get if I asked this community - You really can't ever bring your knee to your chest again?

I'm 6' 4" 190lbs not an ounce of fat on my body and have always healed incredibly fast - I was out of my shoulder sling before my first check up after shoulder surgery for a destroyed laberum. I deep sea fish, metal detect, ride quads with my kids (6 & 10) and a certified skydiver. Does this all go away including my career?

I admire all of you for your courage and wisdom but please no "on the fence" responses - I'm looking for sucess stories for bending to see if anyone can.

Thank you and my best to you all,

2 likes, 3 replies

3 Replies

• Posted

Randy, you may very well be able to go back to your flooring job. You won't know until you heal as best as you can and try.

I was 67 when I had my THR, and I was able to bend down and touch the ground without bending my knees about 3 months post-op. I cannot kneel though, NOT because of my THR, but because my knees have bad cartilage in them, and they are iffy and have been that way for years. I have heard of people with THR's who can kneel, and play tennis, and ski and do all sorts of things.

Everyone is different, with different strengths and disabilities. I am hoping for the best for you!

Report or request deletion

Thanks for your help!