8 year old son diagnosed with crohns

Posted , 8 users are following.

My son has recently been diagnosed with crohns, he is 8 years old, after suffering from stomach cramps diarrhoea with blood in over the past year. They are wanting to start him on a liquid only diet for 7 weeks using nutritional drinks Modulen. He does not want to be fed through a nasogastric tube and is going to try and drink the liquid. Had anyone's children had to do this. I thought it is a safer option than steroids because of side effects but this is all new to me ??!!!

0 likes, 23 replies

23 Replies

Next
  • Posted

Hi Stacey I have no experience of liquid diets and I am a mature crohns sufferer who has had steroid, immuno suppressents and surgery so cannot offer you advice for your son. I just wanted to offer hugs to you both. To have this horrid disease at such a young age is awful and I am sure you will have some tough times to go through but there is a lot of new treatments and support out there. I wish you well in getting the help your young man needs.
    • Posted

Thank you nannylin it is a lot to take in and makes me feel so helpless even though he has been so brave ! They have spoken to us briefly about steroids and immuno suppressants but waiting to see the doctor this week to find out some more about how they will treat him. I have been trying to find out and read as much information as I can as I know little about Crohns.
    • Posted