8th day on increased dose of Citalopram 40mg

Posted , 8 users are following.

Hi all,

I'm a newbie to these forums... so nice to meet you!

Need some advice and positive personal experiences of people who have increased their dose from 20mg to 40mg of Citalopram?

I started it last year, after an awful 2 years of depression caused by anxiety related to the traumatic loss of my dad and generally being a little sensitive soul!

I was reluctant at first to start medication and had counselling that was effective and helped with the ssri's- however the depression/anxiety soon returned... I sat with it for about 2 months before I couldn't take it anymore.

Started 10mg for 3 days then moved up to 20mg. Had an awful 2 weeks... increased anxiety, couldn't keep food down, couldn't sleep. Was so desperate I stuck with it, and after about 3 weeks my mood started to lift. Was able to 'feel' just felt like me again and laugh and cry and feel angry, normal emotions!

Felt great and wondered why I didn't seek medical help sooner... then about 3 weeks ago after a few stressful events started to feel like I was dipping, anxious with friends, worrying excessively so started 30mg for about 6 days (spoke to doc about this) got impatient and upped to 40! (Possibly too quickly)

Have been on this dose for about 8 days and have increased anxiety, low motivation to go out with friends, the only people I can face are my mum and boyfriend and that's it. Feel so sorry for my flat mate who I love to bits and feel it's so not fair on her!

If anyone has increased from 20mg to 40mg did you feel rubbish at first and how long did it take you to feel better at the increased dose?

I don't like to think my body has got used to the meds and hope that my body will get used to the higher dose! D:

Thinking of anyone going through it at the moment. X

0 likes, 58 replies

58 Replies

Prev Next
  • Posted

What is your anxiety like upon waking?
    • Posted

Hey Neil,