A response to an article about Dyspraxia in Adults

Posted , 1 user is following.

See here: - https://patient.info/news-and-features/why-are-there-so-many-misconceptions-about-dyspraxia

I was born in nineteen-forty-eight.

I first suspected I may have developmental (rather than acquired) dyspraxia, now usually academically termed developmental coordination disorder in nineteen-ninety-nine and had that confirmed to my satisfaction in two-thousand-and-two when I was fifty-three years old. My assessment was carried out at my expense by a chartered psychologist, and member of The British Psychological Society, who was an experienced clinician with a special interest in occupational and educational psychology with adults.

I hold a Diploma in Social Work awarded in nineteen-seventy-five by the University of Liverpool at the end of a two year full-time academic and practical professional training course which qualified me to work as either a local authority social worker or probation officer for a United Kingdom public authority. I retired as a probation officer in two-thousand-and-three after a full-time career.

This is a helpful article because it is by a writer in stable and responsible employment who also discovered the condition once they became a mature adult.

Yet in quoting from another person's experience of dyspraxia it is particularly disappointing as again the first symptoms regarding a diagnosis are characteristics observable to an onlooker.

I do not minimise the importance of impaired motor skills or motor difficulties that affect a person's ability to carry out everyday activities. However, such “motor” difficulties are certainly not the most pertinent factors that I feel and experience, neither are they what have been reported to me by the many hundreds of adult dyspraxics that I have met and also engaged with via social media over twenty years.